Great Spirit

It was an early October morning , the sun beat down on my face , it’s warm and nourishing, it made me realize that I hadn’t been praying for a while.
My love of nature inspired me to pray.
My wilderness journey had ended, I could breathe easy again. I pulled the old blanket around my cold shoulders. I remembered back to when we first came out to the Sonoran desert.
One evening , I have decided to go out for a run. The sun was beginning to set and the mountains grew dark. As I came up over a hilltop I was startled by the sound of an owl. I froze in my tracks, there on top of a large sugaro cactus, a beautiful tall owl, he just looked at me and turned his head slightly. This large silhouette against the orange desert sky, purple mountains in the background was a sigh to behold.
Then before I could realize what was happening, again I heard the sound of another owl directly across on the other side of me. Frozen in my spot, I was feeling such excitement that I held my breath and just couldn’t move.
The owls called out to each other back-and-forth in the twilight. I felt so honored and knew that this was a very rare event. Suddenly without warning onne owl swooped down across the road to join the other but they pushed off into the night together. I stood silently frozen in time , was it a sign? I began to call that spot on the ridge, the gate. The experience was so powerful.
I often pray to the great spirits and the ancestors of the Indian.
I was just outside Scottsdale over the Mc Dowell mountains in Fountain Hill’s near the salt river reservation. I often ask to be useful and I ask yo be shown what to do.
One time I was blessed enough to stand up for a Indian girl in court, I walked with her in recovery for a time. I was trying to be of service and tell her what I had learned, she helped me more then you will ever know . I felt so honored to be there when the judge gave her a blanket as part of there ceremony.
I was brought up in the Catholic religion. Going to church was a large part of my younger years. Today I am just unsure what I believe. No fixed ideas right now and it seems ok for now. Mindfulness has been suggested so much lately, it is extremely calming and once again I am brought into the sun light of the spirit. There are so many different beliefs with different rituals. I have called out on many occasions in sadness or desperation. Answers come, sometimes in a strong breeze or in strange display of my higher powers sense of humor.for example a message one a license plate that said ” 4GIVE” , after having a long and difficult conversation about forgiveness. Maybe a coincidence I don’t know. One time I found a coin with writing from Isaiah it said , ” you are mine I call you by name” and this came , just after asking God to show me he was still there. It’s the age old question or was I just looking for it ? I know I’m not special , not different to anyone else, but I find power in the asking and even more in the seeking.

20131027-091821.jpg

Leave a comment